LUC finalist at RTPI planning awards

LUC is thrilled to be a finalist at this year’s RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence in the ‘Health and Wellbeing’ and ‘Plan Making Practice’ categories for a project undertaken on behalf of London Borough of Tower Hamlets – ‘Connecting Communities for a Healthier Tower Hamlets’.

LUC was commissioned to prepare integrated strategies for the Borough’s open spaces, the network of Green Grid routes and 19 water spaces, including the River Thames. The Council will implement the strategies through capitalising on extensive planned development, through clear policy and planning mechanisms, to create a green and blue grid network which brings significant social and health benefits, as well as positive outcomes for the local environment and economy.

Tower Hamlets is one of the most densely populated areas of England. Despite also being one of the wealthiest areas, it has some of the poorest average health levels in the country. Tower Hamlets is also expected to deliver over 43,000 new homes in the next 8 years.. Our work with Tower Hamlets demonstrates how planning can address the twin challenges of lack of space and huge health inequalities, whilst helping to share the benefits of significant growth.  It also demonstrates a ground-breaking approach to planning for water spaces.

For more information on the awards, click here.

2018-02-14T12:16:45+00:00 February 14th, 2018|General news, Strategic Planning & Assessment|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

0117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

.

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

020 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

0131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

.
.

Manchester

6th Floor, 55 King Street
Manchester
M2 4LQ

0161 537 5960
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

0141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

01524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk