New Boarding Houses open at Wycombe Abbey School after LUC input

We were delighted to attend the opening ceremony of Pitt and Rubens Boarding Houses at Wycombe Abbey School last week.

Wycombe Abbey is an independent girls’ boarding school in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. The school forms the major part of a nationally significant landscape (Grade II) as recorded in Historic England’s Register of Parks and Gardens of Historic Importance in England. The site also forms the setting for a backdrop of rich historical architecture including the Grade II* listed Abbey and Caroe designed boarding houses and Chapel.

The project provides boarding accommodation for 108 girls (54 in each house) with supporting staff accommodation. The new buildings are set within a landscaped setting that incorporates functional aspects such as good pedestrian and vehicular access, external recreational areas for the girls, private gardens for the house mistresses, and shared gardens for the more junior staff, whilst ensuring that the design is sensitively integrated into the surrounding landscape context.

LUC was appointed in 2012 to provide town planning, landscape design and ecology services in support of the planning application and subsequent works on site. We worked closely with the school, local authority including partnering stakeholders and the wider design team to deliver an exceptional development which integrates into this highly sensitive landscape.

2017-09-19T11:42:38+00:00 September 19th, 2017|Ecology, Education & Leisure, General news, Landscape Architecture|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk