The Eden Project, Cornwall

The Eden Project, Cornwall 2017-11-16T15:09:53+00:00

How do you make economic botany interesting to teenagers? Who cares where coffee comes from? The Eden Project has reinvented how a botanic garden works, what it is for and who it needs to reach.

LUC was the landscape designer and masterplanner of the internal and external landscape at Eden, “the living theatre of plants and people”. We helped transform a disused quarry into one of the UK’s most popular visitor attractions and a leading educational botanical resource.

This involved bringing everything together into a coherent design, as well as solving technical problems such as stability and drainage. The resulting landform is sculptural to accommodate the scale of the architecture and designed to minimise man-made slope stabilisation.

While working on the project, we collaborated with a team of professionals, from horticulturalists and soil scientists to sculptors and artists. It was a dream project for a landscape architect, and we’re proud that it’s recognised as one of the most exciting projects of the last 100 years.

Services employed: Urban Design & Masterplanning, Landscape Design

If you’d like our creative input and unparalleled experience on your landscape design, whatever the environment, please contact Adrian Wikeley

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk