Racquets Centre, The Hurlingham Club

Racquets Centre, The Hurlingham Club 2017-11-16T16:00:26+00:00

The Hurlingham Club commissioned us and David Morley Architects (DMA) to develop proposals for their new Racquet Centre.

The Hurlingham Club is a private members club located adjacent to the River Thames in Metropolitan Open Land. It is within a Conservation Area and there are important listed buildings on the site. The Club is also home to numerous fine trees, which support important bat colonies.

The multi-million pound project included four tennis courts and four squash courts, a multiple use games area and high-end changing facilities. Due to the sensitive nature of the site, our work involved extensive pre-application discussions with a wide stakeholder group.

LUC worked closely with Club Officials and DMA to co-ordinate the submission of the planning application. We also devised associated landscape design to integrate the building into the exclusive grounds of the Club, retaining existing mature trees and minimising the impact of construction works. Our bat specialists carried out surveys to avoid ecological impacts. The new structure includes state-of-the-art green technology to minimise energy requirements.

Services employed: Development Planning, Landscape DesignEcologyHistoric Environment

If you are looking to develop planning and construction proposals, please contact Jon Grantham

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

0117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

.

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

020 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

0131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

.
.

Manchester

2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

0161 302 6640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

0141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

01524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk