Ecology survey season underway

The leaves have started to bud and the birds are singing.  It can only mean one thing – the ecology survey season has begun! LUC’s UK-wide ecologists are currently commencing another busy year of protected species surveys, providing crucial information to inform planning applications for a wide range of developments.

In Scotland, our Glasgow-based team is providing protected species support on a number of Scottish Water projects.  Delivering and managing otter and badger disturbance licences, our ecologists are enabling  the development of some of Scottish Water’s most exciting infrastructure projects. Our licenced bat surveyors are also delivering a number of bat surveys, including ongoing support during redevelopment at the University of Glasgow.

Our London team is also undertaking a wide range of protected species surveys, including those required to inform a planning application for a large-scale and ambitious housing development in Hampshire. We’re also at the forefront of applying a new Great Crested Newt survey method which relies on DNA sampling; potentially a quicker and more cost effective way to characterise newt populations.

As the protected species survey season runs between April and September, now is the perfect time to talk to us about your site and the surveys you need.  You can reach our ecologists via ecology@landuse.co.uk, by calling any of our offices or by dropping in for a chat.

Survey season demystified with our survey calendar

2016-12-05T15:32:23+00:00 May 13th, 2015|Ecology|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk