LUC ecological clerks of works keeping projects on track

Often development programmes can’t avoid the most ecologically sensitive seasons.  Every developer has been there.  With a fresh planning consent in hand, contractors are commissioned to commence works, only to be thwarted by an obstinate blackbird nesting defiantly in the most awkward part of the site.

Standard mitigation measures recommend against vegetation clearance during breeding bird season, April – August, which, unhelpfully, coincides with dry weather and ideal conditions to get construction underway.   What’s a developer to do?

With spring now underway, LUC’s Ecological Clerks of Works have been helping development stay on track at sensitive sites.  For example, our team is working with the Caledonian Water Alliance to provide ecological support during the construction of an extensive new water main in Ayrshire.  The project passes through woodland, watercourses and hedgerows, so our ecologists are rolling up their sleeves and helping contractors weave their way around the many ecological features.

Contact us on ecology@landuse.co.uk to find out how we can get your project up and running this spring.

2016-04-21T12:02:30+00:00 April 21st, 2016|Ecology, Historic Environment|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk