Four protected landscapes to have pylons removed

National Grid has announced that pylons will be replaced by underground cables in four protected landscapes following a visual impact study.

The priority schemes are: near Hale in the New Forest; near Dunford Bridge in the Peak District; near Porthmadog in Snowdonia and the area of outstanding natural beauty (AONB) near Winterbourne Abbas, Dorset.

LUC undertook a Visual Impact Provision study to assess the effects of overhead power line infrastructure on landscape and visual amenity within 12 designated landscapes in England and Wales. This helped National Grid to identify the areas of greatest landscape and visual importance where alternatives to pylons would be most beneficial.

Hector Pearson, from National Grid, said: “This is a unique stakeholder-driven project and it continues to represent a major opportunity to conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife, cultural and environmental heritage of some areas of outstanding natural beauty and national parks.”

2018-01-24T16:16:56+00:00 September 16th, 2015|General news, Historic Environment, Landscape Planning & Assessment|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk