LUC interviewed in webcast about Scottish marine survey

LUC Director of Planning Nick James was interviewed last week about our work on Scotland’s first national survey of marine recreation and tourism around the coast.

The survey, which LUC carried out in 2015, was commissioned by Marine Scotland, a Directorate of the Scottish Government with the aim of filling the data gaps identified by the National Marine Plan. The work was managed by the Firth of Clyde Forum and part funded by The Crown Estate and the Scottish Coastal Forum.

The results, which provide new insights to where different recreation activities take place, have been described as ‘gold dust’, providing an evidence base which other countries do not currently enjoy.  The work also estimated that spending on marine recreation and tourism amounts to a remarkable £3.7 billion per annum – highlighting the significant economic contribution of the sector.

Watch the webcast

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk