Navitus Bay offshore windfarm refused

Development consent was refused for the proposed Navitus Bay Wind Park in Dorset last week. As a ‘Nationally Significant Infrastructure Project’, the application was decided by the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change.

Landscape and visual impacts were considered ‘significant and relatively long term’ with respect to impacts on local designated landscapes: the Dorset and Isle of Wight AONBs, New Forest National Park and Heritage Coasts.

LUC advised the National Trust and Natural England on the impacts of the scheme on the special qualities of the designated landscapes. We undertook the responses to the statutory consultation on behalf of Natural England and acted as Expert Advisor in the examination process.

The decision highlights how, even at some distance, a development in the setting of a designated landscape can affect its special qualities.

2017-10-25T16:43:20+00:00 September 14th, 2015|Landscape Planning & Assessment|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk