LUC commissioned for Mourne Mountain Gateway Study

LUC has been commissioned by Newry, Mourne and Down District Council and other partners to look at ways to develop visitor infrastructure for the sustainable enhancement of access from the town of Newcastle to the Mourne Mountains, foothills and forests, whilst also broadening the recreational activity provision.

We have been carrying out extensive research, fieldwork and consultation with the public and key stakeholders. Now we are reaching the exciting part of the project and generating concept ideas. The area has a rich cultural heritage with a strong story centred around the Great Cairn on the highest summit in Ulster.

There is also spectacular scenery and fantastic natural assets in the area which include granite mountain ranges, dune systems, historic forests and rugged coastlines. We are looking to the myths, legends and stories associated with the mountain as inspiration for an attraction (or attractions) which also highlight the dramatic scenery and wealth of natural assets.

2017-10-25T16:43:08+00:00 March 6th, 2017|Education & Leisure, Strategic Planning & Assessment|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk