Green Infrastructure Audit delivers greening measures in Clapham, London

Transport for London, in partnership with the This Is Clapham Business Improvement District and Growing Underground, have recently installed green roofs on refurbished entrance shafts to WWII bunkers beneath Clapham High Street.

This is one example of the successful delivery of greening measures following the completion of Clapham’s Common Ground Green Infrastructure Audit, which LUC undertook. We identified opportunities for greening which would deliver real benefits for the area, looking at possible locations for new planting and green roofs with support from local businesses, residents and community groups.

This new green infrastructure will provide habitats for wildlife and improve the attractiveness of the structures whilst creating an exciting feature along the High Street. The vegetation will also help to reduce runoff during periods of high rainfall and filter air pollutants. The bunkers themselves are used by Growing Underground for sustainable food growing, thus delivering greening under and above ground!

Jeremy Keates, This is Clapham BID Manager, said: “We are really pleased that the recommendations of the Green Infrastructure Audit are being actioned.”

Richard Ballard of Growing Underground said: “Small measures like these carried out by the community will make a larger impact as a whole on the local environment.”

2016-05-10T09:33:41+00:00 May 10th, 2016|Green Space & Public Realm, Urban Design|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk