LUC’s light pollution and dark skies campaign shortlisted for ENDS Environmental Impact award

We are pleased to announce that our light pollution and dark skies campaign with Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) has been shortlisted for an ENDS Environmental Impact award in the ‘Campaign of the Year’ category.

We worked alongside CPRE, using the latest available satellite data to map England’s light pollution and dark skies. The mapping work builds on previous studies undertaken by LUC and CPRE in 2003 to show the extent of light pollution in the UK in 1993 and 2000.

Our GIS team used data gathered by the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Suomi NPP satellite to create an interactive map and supporting analysis to show how light pollution is distributed around the country and where the darkest skies are.

The awards presentation will take place on Thursday 4 May at Chelsea Physic Garden.

To see how dark the skies in your area are compared to other locations around the UK, have a look here: http://nightblight.cpre.org.uk/ and for more information on the awards, visit the ENDS website.

2017-10-25T16:43:08+00:00 March 14th, 2017|General news, GIS & Visualisation|

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk