Benenden School Parkland Plan

Benenden School Parkland Plan 2017-11-16T14:59:00+00:00

LUC was commissioned by Benenden School to produce a Parkland Plan for its 85 hectare, Grade II registered historic park and garden.

As one of the country’s leading independent girls’ schools, Benenden School faces a unique challenge in providing the latest facilities while honouring and preserving one of its most important assets. The Plan was part funded by Natural England through the Higher Level Stewardship Scheme to guide future management of the designed landscape.

We carried out desk and field survey with our specialist team of sub-consultants to understand the site’s historic development, archaeology, ecology and trees, and to identify key issues affecting the significance of the landscape. We then produced a programme of management and capital works and Special Projects (including restoration of the walled garden and lake) to ensure the integrity of the parkland is restored, conserved and enhanced for future generations. The plans also allowed the school to apply for further funding and development as required.

Guided by the plans, our development planning, landscape design and ecology teams have supported the School through a series of improvement projects.

Services employed: Landscape ManagementLandscape Design, Ecology, Development Planning, Historic Environment

If you need a Parkland Plan to inform planning for your development speak to Matt Parkhill

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk