Century Park, Shanghai

Century Park, Shanghai 2017-11-15T14:51:10+00:00

Following an international design competition for a new park to form the centrepiece of Shanghai’s financial district, LUC was appointed masterplanner for the realisation of the concept.

Our scheme, Century Park, combined major recreation and visitor destinations, including new metro stations, with an ecological approach that includes protected areas of nature conservation interest. The design included major new landforms and bodies of water to ameliorate Shanghai’s occasionally extreme climate in an area previously characterised by urban fringe issues and fluvial flooding.

Once we had produced the masterplan, we went on to produce detailed design briefs for development by local contractors and advised on work as it progressed on site. As a result of the entire project team’s ingenuity and creativity, Century Park is both an immensely popular venue attracting millions of visitors annually, and a notable piece of sustainable park design.

Services employed: Urban Design & Masterplanning

If you’d like design input into masterplanning, please contact Adrian Wikeley

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk