Lynton Railway Reinstatement EIA

Lynton Railway Reinstatement EIA 2018-01-11T17:20:24+00:00

Lynton & Barnstaple Railway Trust wanted to reinstate 4.4 miles of active track within Exmoor National Park, North Devon. We were appointed by the Trust to provide ecological, landscape design, planning and EIA services to support the planning proposals.

Several baseline surveys predated our appointment, so our first task was to consolidate existing data, identify additional survey requirements and take the project forward through EIA. This involved numerous surveys for protected species, including dormouse, which were recorded within the site.

Key issues associated with the proposed scheme related to ecological, landscape and visual sensitivities.  By liaising between the Railway Trust and Exmoor National Park Authority and making recommendations for a more sensitive scheme design, we helped minimise the potential for adverse impacts.

With LUC’s guidance, the Railway Trust presented a robust planning application, which demonstrates a sensitive, well-designed scheme and provides a significant benefit to the local community and environment.

Services employed: Environmental Impact Assessment, Development Planning, Landscape DesignEcologyLandscape Planning & Assessment

If you need full-service EIA expertise for a sensitive site contact Sarah Young

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk