Newcastle Science Central

Newcastle Science Central 2017-11-22T22:27:49+00:00

Newcastle Science Central is a new science-themed urban quarter being developed in the heart of Newcastle. Part of a multidisciplinary team, we were the landscape architect behind the public realm design and associated statutory consents for the development.

The client was looking for a distinctive high-quality public realm which promotes environmental sustainability and science themes. They wished to deliver a range of multi-functional spaces, establish new connections with the surrounding urban areas and create strategic links for cycling and pedestrians.

LUC developed a public realm strategy which incorporated both permanent and interim landscapes, giving the pedestrian priority with level surfaces throughout to facilitate all-abilities access.

Following complex site preparation works and infrastructure development, we were then responsible for the first phase of public realm on the project. This included a network of streets, two new civic spaces and extensive areas of interim landscape, plus a public access network to allow positive use of the future development plots until they are needed.

The designs applied sustainable design principles, achieving CEEQUAL ‘Excellent’ rating. For example, the stone quarried on site during site preparation works was used as a paving material.

Services employed: Urban Design & Masterplanning

For inspirational regeneration projects with an environment-sensitive foundation get in touch with Martin Tabor

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk