South West Acute Hospital, Enniskillen

South West Acute Hospital, Enniskillen 2017-11-16T15:10:38+00:00

LUC was the masterplanner and landscape architect behind this new hospital outside Enniskillen in Northern Ireland. This was an immensely complex project, integrating extensive development into a sensitive context whilst minimising environmental impacts.

Intelligent landscape design was instrumental to this scheme as one of the key drivers was to maximise the landscape opportunities provided by the attractive greenfield site in recognition of its benefits to patient well-being.

As masterplanners and landscape architect we needed to consider everything from site legibility to security, parking to ecology. Highlights include the 400m-long linear gardens – a birch woodland forming the spine of the hospital. We had all surface water run-off filtered and diverted into a lake, used local natural hard materials and created local species-rich meadows.

The ecologically-informed landscape design is sensitive to both the complex operational needs of a large hospital, and the client’s high expectations in terms of planning, landscape and biodiversity. The result is a deceptively simple but rich environment which makes its presence felt in every aspect of the healing process.

Services employed: Urban Design & Masterplanning, Ecology

To engage us for your own site developments please contact Richard Hannay

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk