Tumbling Bay Playground, Stratford

Tumbling Bay Playground, Stratford 2017-11-23T10:07:50+00:00

We won an international competition to deliver a new “play, leisure and learning experience of international renown” in the northern Olympic Park in Stratford.

Working with erect architecture and a complex web of stakeholders, clients, statutory consultees and the Games planning authority, we designed Tumbling Bay, an expansive playscape, delivering challenging play experiences for all ages.

Visitors are drawn through a series of character areas: a hazel copse and birch pioneer woodland encouraging den-making and play-trails; a sand and water area where children can become water engineers; and climax woodland – with climbing nets, organic treetop pods and connecting bridges. The undulating topography envelops the popular new café and multi-functional community hub.

Visitor numbers quickly exceeded those anticipated, with people coming to the park even as the surrounding neighbourhoods are created. The BREEAM Excellent-rated playground has won several awards and provides a well-loved, exciting place to play for future local residents and visitors alike.

“Getting the park designed and built within the timeframe to a standard that we can all be proud of is a fantastic achievement. It is a significant asset that has been added to the Park.”

Jessica Gavaghan, LLDC, Project Sponsor

Services employed: Landscape Design

If you’re looking for inspiring, stimulating playscape design, please contact Jennette Emery-Wallis

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk