Wangari Maathai Institute, Nairobi

Wangari Maathai Institute, Nairobi 2017-11-16T14:41:48+00:00

LUC was the landscape architect in the winning team in an international design competition to create the Wangari Maathai Institute for Peace and Environmental Studies (WMI) to honour the Nobel Laureate’s work.

Wangari Maathai was awarded the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize “for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace”. The WMI was intended as an international teaching and research facility with a 50-bed residential village for visiting students. A major objective was to pass on Wangari Maathai’s firm belief that sustainably managing natural resources can help create a peaceful, democratic society.

We produced a land use masterplan that followed the principles of environmental sustainability, good practice in land management and productive landscaping. The formal campus merged into a working landscape, which could be used to demonstrate sustainable agriculture and water management techniques as well as the uses that can be made of natural forest and grassland.

The jury praised our masterplan’s ‘sensitive treatment of ecological issues’ and the extensive handling of sustainable design concepts, as well as the bold architecture.

We further developed the competition-winning design and presented the concept design to help the WMI board seek funding.

Services employed: Landscape Management, Urban Design & Masterplanning

To learn more about our masterplanning expertise, please contact John Adams

Other projects that may interest you

About LUC
is a private limited company registered in England (Reg No. 2549296), having its Registered Office at
43 Chalton Street,
London NW1 1JD.

Bristol
12th Floor, Colston Tower,
Colston Street. Bristol
BS1 4XE

+44 (0)117 929 1997
bristol@landuse.co.uk

 

London
43 Chalton Street,
London
NW1 1JD

+44 (0)20 7383 5784
london@landuse.co.uk

Edinburgh
28 Stafford Street,
Edinburgh
EH3 7BD

+44 (0)131 202 1616
edinburgh@landuse.co.uk

 
 

Manchester
2 Mount Street
Manchester
M2 5WQ

+44 (0)161 3026640
manchester@landuse.co.uk

Glasgow
37 Otago Street,
Glasgow
G12 8JJ

+44 (0)141 334 9595
glasgow@landuse.co.uk

Lancaster Environment Centre
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YQ

+44 (0)1524 592 829
lancaster@landuse.co.uk